NW6, Hampstead. Live in nanny/housekeeper. Start September #4970

NW6, Hampstead. Live in nanny/housekeeper wanted by a friendly family with 2 little girls ages 12 months and 4 1/2 years old. The role would be a mix of 60% housekeeping and 40% nannying. During the school holidays the nannying may increase. The family have a nanny in the morning who has been with them for many years and she will still be there so the house keeping duties will mainly be in the morning. They also have a cleaner (again has been with them for many years) who comes in 4 x per week. 

The expectation is 10hr per day Monday to Friday between 8.00am-8.30/9.00pm (with 2-3 hours of breaks in the day), 1-3 hours on a Saturday morning and babysitting on a Friday evening (around 55 hours per week). Any additional hours to be agreed and paid on top of salary. 

Duties to include:

The housekeeping role is to help maintain it in good shape. General duties would include dusting and tidying of the house, garden and all play areas. Organisation, ordering food/supplies, receiving deliveries/vendors and so on. One key area is to be in charge of the family meals from organising to shopping and cooking (mainly dinner)- just everyday healthy food. So must be a competent cook and enjoy cooking.

The ideal person will be able to use initiative with a can do attitude and someone who likes to be proud of what they have achieved. Must have relevant live in experience.

The nanny role will be a mix of sole charge of both children in the afternoons when parents are at work, and shared care with the other nanny or parents at times as needed.

If the 4 year old could choose her nanny they would be like this: "She would be a fun friend who is chatty, gets excited about what goes on around her and likes being funny. She’d be very active, engaging and playful. The kind that will climb on the trampoline with her, do jumps and runs around together, and like playing chase or hide-and-seek 20 times. She’d also be sweet and caring when she’s not comfortable with the people around or not feeling well. And at times of the day, she’d also enjoy drawing, doing “experiments”, reading books and playing pretend games."

The ideal nanny should be mature, responsible and well mannered.  A smart and bubbly person who is comfortable in a loving family style with positive discipline. They would like someone perceptive and willing to learn their parenting style to help stay consistent and follow their routines. The nanny/housekeeper will need to be reliable to manage school pickups on time and must be able to relay any feedback to the parents. Overall must be very patient and always try to understand situations and stay calm to manage them in a positive way.

If the nanny/housekeeper is happy to travel occasionally with the family this may be an option but is not a priority. The family would prefer someone who is either fluent in Spanish as well as English or fluent English and can understand some Spanish (the 4 year old little girl is bilingual in Spanish and English and the mother talks to the children in Spanish) but this is not essential.

The accommodation offered is a private large room en-suite with small patio and sole access to a secondary kitchen, all located on a lower ground floor - used to be a separate flat. The house is big enough that this feels very private and the house has many fun spaces to play and do things all year around. 

Salary negotiable depending on experience but will be starting from circa £500net per week. Start September. (REF#4970)